/Congressional elections on schedule despite court challenge of new map

Congressional elections on schedule despite court challenge of new map

Federal court is hearing a lawsuit by the NAACP and other groups alleging that the Legislature’s redrawing those four U.S. House seat dilutes Black voter strength. The case is currently before a three-judge panel. READ MORE: Mississippi NAACP challenges constitutionality of redistricting plan. However, the federal lawsuit has not altered the timeline for the election. Candidates had to be eligible to run for congressional seats by March 1. The primary election for the party is scheduled for June 7th, and the general election for November 8th. Trent Kelly, the Republican incumbent, will be one of those qualifying for the 1st district, which covers most of north Mississippi. Mark D. Strauss will challenge him in the party primaries. Hunter Avery, Dianne Black are the Democrats running for this post. Bennie Thompson, the Democratic incumbent in the 2nd district, appears to have been unopposed in primary election. According to the Secretary-of-State’s office, Jerry Kerner, who had filed papers to challenge Thompson in the 2nd District, was declared ineligible. Stanford Johnson, Brian Flowers and Ronald Eller are the only Republicans eligible to run for the 2nd district post. The 2nd District, which includes large swathes of the west side of the state, including the Delta, is the largest congressional district. Thomas Griffin and Michael Cassidy, both Republicans, are competing against Michael Guest, the incumbent Republican, for the 3rd district slot. Shuwaski Young and Rahim Talley are the Democrats in this race. The 3rd district covers large swathes of central and east Mississippi, as well as parts of the state’s southwest. Steven Palazzo, a Republican from the 4th District, is the incumbent. Six Republicans and two Democrats are challenging him for the 4th District seat, which includes large parts of south Mississippi, as well as the populous Gulf Coast county. Brice Wiggins and Raymond Brooks are the Republicans. Clay Wagner, Clay Wagner, Clay Wagner, Kidron Peson, Carl Boyanton, and Clay Wagner are the Democrats. Johnny DuPree, David Sellers and David Sellers are the Democrats in this race. Alden Patrick, a Libertarian, is also running for the 4th District. The safest congressional districts in the state are the 3rd, 4th and 5th. These are the ones for Republicans and the Democrats. In part, the federal lawsuit claims that if African Americans weren’t placed in the 2nd district in such large numbers, some of the other districts might prove more competitive. Because the Legislature redrew districts earlier this year, based on changes in population found by 2020 Census, the lawsuit is still ongoing. READ MORE: The first time that congressional districts have been redrawn since the early 1990s, it was done by lawmakers