/Candidates for Secretary of State

Candidates for Secretary of State

The Mississippi State Constitution describes the secretary of state as the “keeperof the capitol”. This officer is responsible for publishing documents relating to the acts of Mississippi’s legislature. Also, the Mississippi Official and Statistical Register (also known as the Blue Book) are also published. This office is responsible for the administration of fair and accurate elections in Mississippi. The secretary of State also manages state-owned lands, and is responsible to ensure certain businesses comply with the law. Sam Britton and Michael Watson were defeated in the Republican primary to be secretary of state. Johnny DuPree defeated Maryra Hodges Hunter to win the Democratic primary for secretary-of-state.