/State’s Elgton Jenkins wins Kent Hull Trophy

State’s Elgton Jenkins wins Kent Hull Trophy

Elgton Jenkins from Mississippi State, who was also the recipient this year, is another center from the Delta. A panel of professional football scouts selected Jenkins as the winner. He is a Clarksdale senior, who stands at 6’4″ and weighs 315 pounds. Hull, named after the trophy, is a Greenwood native who played at State as well before embarking on a 14-year professional football career. He made All Pro twice, played in three Pro Bowls, and was eventually inducted into the Buffalo Bills’ Hall of Fame. Jenkins started his State career as a Guard, blocking for Dak Prescott. He has played in every season, except the last three as an assistant center. He will be the Bulldogs’ bowl-game MVP in all four seasons. Jenkins is a major reason why Nick Fitzgerald, the Southeastern Conference’s most successful rushing quarterback, has won this title. Jenkins is also a great pass blocker. He has allowed just one sack in 708 snaps the past two seasons. Jenkins is the fourth Bulldog to be awarded the award over its six-year history. All past winners went on to play in NFL. Jenkins is likely to be a draft pick in the first or second round. The Kent Hull Foundation established the award to highlight football players who are rarely well-known or given media attention. It also raises money for the Candlelighters at UMMC, which helps children with childhood cancer. Jenkins will receive the Hull Award at Tuesday’s C Spire Conerly Trophy Banquet at the Country Club of Jackson. Each four-year football-playing school is represented among the Conerly Trophy finalists. In alphabetical order, they include wide receiver A.J. Brown, the winner last year from Ole Miss, running back Booker Chambers in Mississippi Valley State; linebacker Chandler Coleman of Millsaps and kicker-punter Christian Jacquemin in Jackson State. Running back Tiberias lampkin of Mississippi College. Wide receiver Quez Watkins from Southern Miss. Deuce McAllister (the 1999 C Spire Conerly trophy winner) is the keynote speaker. After a reception at 5:30, the event will be followed by a 6:30 program and banquet. Past Kent Hull Trophy Winners: *2013: Gabe Jackson (MSU). * 2014: Laremy Tusil, Ole Miss. * 2015: Fahn cooper, Ole Miss. * 2016: Justin Senior (MSU). * 2017: Martinas, Rankin, MSU.