/Evan Engram wins 2016 C Spire Conerly

Evan Engram wins 2016 C Spire Conerly

Engram, a senior in Powder Springs, Ga. caught 65 passes for 926 yard and eight touchdowns this year. One of his most memorable games was against Alabama, the nation’s No. He was the nation’s No. 1 defensive player, catching nine passes for an impressive 138 yards and one touchdown. Engram accepted the award and said: “I thank God that He allowed me to play such a great sport.” My family, my coaches, and my teammates deserve my gratitude. It is an honor for me and my university.” Each one of the Mississippi’s 10 football-playing four-year colleges nominated a player to the 21st Conerly Trophy. During the ceremony, four finalists were selected: Engram and Fred Ross, Mississippi State wide receiver, Southern Miss running back ItoSmith, and Javancy Jones, Jackson State defensive end. A state-wide sports media panel voted on the winner. This accounted for 90% of the final count and C Spire fan voting, which accounted 10 percent. Jones of JSU won the fan vote. Hugh Freeze, Ole Miss coach of Engram said: “Evan has been one of my best young coaches. All the recruiting agencies were wrong. When he was in highschool, he came to our football camp without any scholarship offers and said he was coming to get a scholarship. He was the camp’s king. It was an honor to coach Evan.” Engram said, “I didn’t know I would win because there were so much great nominees. It could have been won by anyone. I really wanted to win for my school and my team.” Justin Senior, a senior Montreal tackle, was awarded the Kent Hull Trophy as Mississippi’s outstanding offensive lineman. Senior is the fourth Hull Trophy recipient, and all three previous winners are in the NFL. Senior stated, “I hope that I can live up the legacy of Kent Hull as well as the people who won this award before,” Senior’s aunt and parents flew from Canada for the event.